The Parks and Recreation Commission is an advisory commission appointed by the Mayor and Council. Their purpose is to advise the Council on the conduct of, and the supervision of, public parks and public playgrounds, athletic fields, recreation centers, recreational facilities and other recreation activities on any of the properties owned or controlled by the City, or on other properties with the consent of the owners and occupants thereof.


The Commission consists of eight members. A representative of community education, a high school student, a member of city council, and five residents of Coeur d'Alene.

Current Members:

Scott Cranston, Chairman
Mike McDowell, Vice Chairman
Christie Wood, Council Liaison
Warren Bakes
Bridget Hill
Jim Lien
Ginny Tate
Bill Greenwood, Parks & Recreation Director
Paula Austin, Staff Liaison
Jeff Erickson, Staff Liaison
Adam Rouse, Staff Liaison 


The Parks and Recreation Commission adopts bylaws, rules and regulations for the proper conduct of the recreation and parks in and for the City. The bylaws, rules and regulations are subject to the approval of the Mayor and City Council.

Meeting Dates:

The Monday preceding the third Tuesday of each month, at 5:30 p.m. The current meeting place is Library Community Room, 702 East Front Street.

All meetings are open to the public and publicized to allow and promote public participation in the decisions of the Commission.

Staff Contacts:

Bill Greenwood

Paula Austin

Jeff Erickson

Adam Rouse

710 Mullan Avenue
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 83814
Parks Department: (208) 769-2252
Recreation Department: (208) 769-2250
FAX: (208) 769-2383